How it all began!

Mr. W. S. A. Johnson, a teacher at the Wait-A Bit School in Trelawny has the distinction of being the man to move the resolution to bring the JTA Credit Union into being. Mr. D. C. Gascoigne, a teacher at Kings All Age School in Westmoreland, seconded the motion at the Conference of the Jamaica Union of Teachers in January 1959. The Credit Union was brought into being as a central unit designed to meet the needs of all teachers.

Myrtle Irving, W. S. A. Johnson, C. L. Stuart and G. W. Little are among some of our other pioneering members.

In July 1959, the Credit Union began preliminary operations, and in October of the same year, the Jamaica Teachers' Association Co-operative Credit Union Limited was registered as a Credit Union under the Co-operative Society Act.

At that first historic meeting of the Credit Union, 167 persons were admitted to membership, with a share capital of $2000. Fifty-two (52) district associations were established and a mandate given to develop a branch in each district.

The JTACCUL grew rapidly and by 1960, the membership increased to over 1000 and the share capital to $52,000. 

After many discussions with the Ministry of Education the pay roll deduction system was implemented by the Credit Union in 1970. Pay roll deductions proved to be a boon for the Credit Union and by 1974 5,000 members were erolled and the first $1,000,000 in share capital reached.  In addition, by 1977 the JTACCUL was the largest Credit Union in Jamaica with 10,000 members and $7.5m in share capital.


Our Trail Blazers

Mr. Desmond C. Gascoigne the first President of the Credit Union and served in a number of roles on the Board of Directors for 28 years. He then moved on to become the General Manager in April 1977.

The late Isaac S. W. Henry became the President following Mr Gascoigne and then the late Rev. U. C. Wolfe, W. Titus and R. K. Ellis all followed Mr Henry. The late Dr. Dorothy Raymond is the first and only female to be elected to the position of President of the Board of Directors a post she held untill her death. The current President of the JTA Co-op Credit Union is Mr. Paul Patrick Adams.


Our Founding Members & Past Presidents