Mon to Fri 8:45am to 4:00pm

Tertiary Scholarship 2020

By: Editorial Staff0 comments

I wish to express heartfelt congratulations to our twelve members who were awarded scholarships and grants in the Credit Union’s annual tertiary scholarships and grants programme.

This year’s winners are attending various teacher training institutions across the island and all hope to advance their education so that they can in turn better serve the nation’s children. The JTA Co-op Credit Union has been awarding scholarships and grants to members since 1984, the scholarship is only available to members of the JTA Credit Union who are about to enter their final year of study. However, students at both the Master’s and first degree level can apply as well as members enrolled in programmes offered by both local and international institutions.

The 2020 winners are:

Janice Johnson

Maria James

Aldin James

Verlia McLaughlin

Patricia Jackson

Remona Williams-Harrison

Denroy Forbes

Maxim Vernon

Alisha Morgan-Lewis

Tannece Francis-Huslin

Shernette Rhooms-Wilson

Lissa Francis-Davis

I would like to single out Lissa Francis-Davis for special congratulations. Mrs. Francis-Davis is this year’s Desmond Charlse (D.C.) Gascoigne Awardee. The D.C. Gascoigne award is the most outstanding tertiary scholarship granted by the Credit Union and is bestowed on the most outstanding applicant. Mrs. Francis-Davis a teacher at Robert Lightbourne High School in St. Thomas and a student at the University of the West Indies pursuing a Master’s degree in Education Leadership. Mrs. Francis-Davis proved herself to be a very worthy applicant who impressed us greatly in the interview. Her knowledge and passionate about her subject matter and her students shone through in the interview and her knowledge about the Credit Union is outstanding.

The truth is all our shortlisted applicants were outstanding

As the General Manager of this noble institution I am equally parts humbled and proud that the Credit Union can assist our members to improve themselves and reach their full potential.

Congratulations again to all our 2020 Tertiary Scholarship awardees.  

Related post

Leave A Comment